Justin Bieber appreciation post

Tejas Sudarshan
2 min readJun 22, 2021

--

While I was cycling down Marina yesterday, listening to my “Pop Mix” put together so fondly by Spotify, “Baby by Justin Bieber (feat. Ludacris)” popped up on my shuffle and I couldn’t help but sing along, while the auto anna next to me at the signal thought I completely lost it.

Circa 2010

I was ten years old when I first started watching Disney. Up until then, I was fully hooked onto the likes of Cartoon Network, POGO and Animax.

I remember first listening to “Baby” way back in 2010 when it came out as I was buzzing through channels to watch, after an extremely intense game of cricket. I landed up at Disney channel for the first time while the music video to this song was being played. And that was how it all began!

This song got me hooked on the genre and I remember vivid incidences where I got shot down by my neighbour for thinking Justin Bieber was cool! “Baby” was the first-ever English song I had ever heard! This led to my subsequent discovery of One Direction, One Republic, Maroon 5, Michael Jackson, Eric Clapton, Bryan Adams… Well, you get the point!

Baby also led to Disney becoming part of My World 2.0 (see what I did there). Hannah Montana, Wizards of Waverley Place, Suite Life of Zack and Cody, Phineas and Ferb, That’s So Raven.. all became part of my daily routine.

Phineas and Ferb in particular, has shaped me to be the person I am today! Way back in 5th grade, I even remember making a water purifier along with a friend for a science project and calling it something “inator”. While I do not “make” new things anymore, this show has taught me how to always stay inquisitive and be filled with “unarchi” no matter what, which is my defining trait and the highlight of my resume.

So to sum up, Justin Bieber and his PR team have indirectly played a major part in shaping who I am today. Needless to say, this deserved an appreciation post !

--

--